Full list of Team of the Year nominees

The nominees for the FIFA 23 TOTY have been revealed, and as always, the list of nominees has sparked a lot of debate, the biggest of which is Cristiano Ronaldo.

Fans can vote until January 17th to decide which players should be the best team in the EA Sports game. The Team of the Year will be announced on January 19, and selected players will receive special FIFA 23 Ultimate Team items and in-game stat boosts.

The full list of 100 nominees is broken down by position for fans to vote on, with 30 forwards, 35 midfielders, 25 defenders and 10 goalkeepers. After looking at this year’s names, here’s a summary of the highlights.

Ronaldo left TOTY

After finding himself on the bench at Manchester United and Portugal in the most difficult year of his playing career, Ronaldo suffered the added humiliation of failing to make the 30 attacking players.

Ronaldo, who moved to Saudi Arabia’s Al Nassr late last month after his contract with Manchester United was terminated, has not appeared on the shortlist for the first time since the team entered the EA Sports series for FIFA 09. Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Sergio Ramos are the only players who were named in the FIFA 09 Team of the Year and are still active.

To make matters worse, Ronaldo was last selected in FIFA 21. Last year, he was pushed out of the starting XI by Messi, Kylian Mbappe and Robert Lewandowski, although he was later named the ’12th man’. separate list of honorary titles.

The list is dominated by “City” and “Real”.

Manchester City and Real Madrid can boast more players than any other club in the list of 100 candidates, as both clubs have eight stars.

In total, the list of nominees comes from seven different European leagues, with a total of 30 nominees in the Premier League, 21 in LaLiga, 20 in Serie A, 16 in the Bundesliga, 9 in Ligue 1, 3 in the Portuguese Primeira Liga and one in the Dutch Eredivisie.

New TOTY candidates

The shortlist for FIFA 23 Team of the Year includes some first-time stars.

Real Madrid winger Vinicius Junior, who scored the winning goal in last season’s Champions League final, and Martin Odegaard, captain of Premier League leaders Arsenal, are two of the players who have risen to the highest echelon of world football in the eyes of EA. Sports.

Also on the list for the first time are Liverpool’s Uruguayan striker Darwin Nunes, Eintracht goalkeeper Kevin Trapp and Sevilla’s Marcos Acuna, who have been characterized by goals, assists and inconsistent performances in his first few months at Anfield.

The impact of the World Cup

A total of 16 nominees for FIFA 23’s Team of the Year list are listed as “World Cup Entrants”, meaning they earned their spot through impressive individual performances at the tournament.

The likes of naughty Argentinian goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez, French midfielder Antoine Griezmann, Croatian defender Josko Guardiol, Moroccan duo Sofyan Amrabat and Yassine Bounou, Japanese super-sub Ritsu Doan and Portuguese player Bruno Fernandes have all featured in Qatar.

Although Argentina won the World Cup last month by beating France on penalties in that thrilling final, Les Bleus have twice as many candidates (19) as the new world champions (7).

Full list of FIFA 23 TOTY nominees

  • Thibaut Courtois
  • Gregor Kobel
  • Mike Maignan
  • Alison
  • Ederson
  • Wojciech Szczesny
  • Kevin Trapp
  • Yassine Bounou
  • Hugo Lloris
  • Emilino Martinez
  • Marcos Acuna
  • Marquinhos
  • Cristiano Biraghi
  • Joao Cancelo
  • Jonathan Clauss
  • Thiago Silva
  • Alphonso Davies
  • Jeremy Frimpong
  • Eder Militao
  • Ruben Diaz
  • Grimaldo
  • Ashraf Doctor
  • Theo Hernandez
  • Reece James
  • Kalidou Koulibaly
  • Nicolas Otamendi
  • Gleason Bremer
  • Niklas Sule
  • Fikayo Tomori
  • Kieran Trippier
  • Virgil van Dijk
  • Josko Guardiol
  • Jules Kounde
  • Christian Romero
  • Dayot Upamecano
  • Nicolo Barella
  • Jude Bellingham
  • Steven Berghuis
  • Marcelo Brozovic
  • Bernardo Silva
  • Kevin De Bruyne
  • Musa Diabi
  • Nabil Fekir
  • Seko Fofana
  • Pedri
  • Vincenzo Griffo
  • Rhodri
  • Daichi Kamada
  • Joshua Kimmich
  • Philip Kostic
  • Toni Kroos
  • Merino
  • Sergey Milinkovich-Savic
  • Luka Modric
  • Martin Odegaard
  • Parejo
  • Lorenzo Pellegrini
  • Declan Rice
  • Bukayo Saka
  • Aurelien Tchouameni
  • Sandro Tonali
  • Federico Valverde
  • Casemiro
  • Sofyan Amrabat
  • Bruno Fernandes
  • Ritsu Doan
  • Enzo Fernandez
  • Ivan Perisic
  • Adrian Rabiot
  • Yago Aspas
  • Wissam Ben Yedder
  • Karim Benzema
  • Rafael Leao
  • Neymar Jr.
  • Vinicius Jr.
  • Ousmane Dembele
  • Joao Felix
  • Gabriel Jesus
  • Phil Foden
  • Cody Gakpo
  • Erling Haaland
  • Borja Iglesias
  • Ciro Immobile
  • Harry Kane
  • Randal Kolo Muani
  • Dejan Kulusevski
  • Robert Lewandowski
  • Sadio Mane
  • Lautaro Martinez
  • Kylian Mbappe
  • Lionel Messi
  • Christopher Nkunku
  • Darwin Nunes
  • Victor Osimhen
  • Mohamed Salah
  • Heung Min Son
  • Martin Terrier
  • Dusan Vlahovic
  • Olivier Giroud
  • Antoine Griezmann

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *